Home Forums BPM U bend loss in POF

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Saptarshi Mitra
      Participant

I am trying to simulate a U shape bend in a POF with the hope of gaining an insight into the RI profile, modal field and finally the evanescent field with change in the external media. I plan to use this fiber in a liquid detection sensor. I did a structure with air as the waveguide and the pof as an optical fiber embedded in it. However, I can’t figure out if it is possible to implement the input source only into one end of the fiber. Also when I try to see the ref index profile, I can’t see the fiber RIs at all(this may be due to the 12000*1100*15500 size of the waveguide, but wanted a confirmation). The design file is attached and I am new to optical simulations, so any suggestions are welcome.

Attachments:
      Steve Dods
      Participant

The Beam Propagation Method (BPM) is a paraxial method. This means it applies only in the case where there is an optical axis. The U bend is not such a case. On the other hand, accurate results have been demonstrated when BPM is used together with a conformal mapping. (see, for example, IEEE JOURNAL OF QUANTUM ELECTRONICS, VOL. 43, NO. 10, pg 899-909 OCTOBER 2007)

OptiBPM has a conformal mapping region. Please use the conformal mapping region of OptiBPM to calculate the details of optical propagation in a U bend.

Saptarshi Mitra
      Participant

Hi Steven,

I figured that out after posting this. Did it using the conformal mapping. Thanks for your reply though. I actually found one of your old posts with some sample files.:)
      On a related note, when I am using the OptiFiber to get the Macrobend losses for the POF, it is not showing me any results for the required wavelength and fiber. Attaching the file for reference.
      P.S: Not sure if it is ok to post this in BPM forum, but as you used OptiFiber in your example, I suppose you are the right person to ask.

Attachments:
      Steve Dods