Home Forums GENERAL Optical Output Power Of Laser Emission

Viewing 16 reply threads
  • Author
      ZULKARNAIN
      Participant

i am currently studying the nature of output of a laser by varying certain parameters of the input signal,discussed in my previous post also.The bit rate is 1Gbps,but the eye diagram is not good as the marks and space are not clear.Also the bias current is 10mA.Can anyone please explain how to improve the distiction between marks and space.
      Also attaching the snapshot of the eye diagram.
      with regards.

Attachments:
      Aabid Baba
      Participant

Hello Zulkarnain,
      Though you are working on a low data rate and yet your eye diagram is not proper. Its strange. Could you please upload your .osd file because that way it would be more convenient to analyze what exactly you are doing. Can you detail about your other parameters that you are using for the transmission. Better would be to upload the .osd file so that people will help you accordingly. i Hope to se your problem get resolved soon.
      Regards

ZULKARNAIN
        Participant

hi aabid baba..
        thank you for showing concern..
        actually i am studying the output of a laser by changing bit rate and input bias current. At this current i.e.10mA when i am changing the bit rate to higher rates the eye diagram is getting worse and there is no distinction between marks and spaces.Also the BER is very high and quality factor is also very low.
        Hope you will find some find to respond to my query.
        with regards

Aabid Baba
          Participant

you are welcome zulkarnain. Sure

Ubaid Bhat
          Participant

hi zulkarnain..
          you have said that you are varying the bit rate keeping the bias current constant because of which your eye diagram is not good.well i think you should also try to increase the bias current and keeping the bit rate fixed to see the effect of bias current on bit rate.may be your results might get better.