Home Forums BPM N-type and P-type

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author

Dear all;
      would you please help me to know how to define the P-type and N-type silicon in optibpm?
      I have a wave guide that has P-type part and N-type part, the very sad story is P-type and N-type refractive index in the same of the silicon, so how the software could distinguish which one is P-type or N-type?
      I need the answer as soon as we can my friends.
      many thanks

Ravil
      Participant

Hi Mohammad,

Just trying to give you a hint and exactly understand your question. What optical properties of your designed material will be different (I mean for N- and P-type) waveguides? How do you specify them in your model?

it is simple, but to me not simple, we have mach zehnder my friend, and one arm is sensing arm right? then this sensing arm that I am studying about suppose to have P and N junction, then we have electrode, this electrode and P-N junction would interfere the light, any idea how to design? still stuck…

Ravil
      Participant

Yes, you are right about your first statement: one arm of Mach Zehnder is usually used for sensing. The first general idea that comes to me is that you can perform modulation by changing electric field with the respect of built-in voltage (and I am pretty sure that what you are doing). The main concept is the same as for regular MZM: the change in electric field should affect the change of refractive index.

Ravil
      Participant

Coming back to your question about the refractive indices for P- and N-type: they should be different since there are different resonance frequencies for these doppings. In my opinion, that is the main point here. Did you consider to assign these indices manually or did you find a proof from the literature that they are equal (can you share the reference in this case)?

Dear Ravil;
      “they should be different since there are different resonance frequencies for these doppings.”