Home Forums SYSTEM M-ary encoding

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Prarthana Kashyap
      Participant

Hi everyone,
      I studied about digital modulation techniques and found that “In digital communications, the modulating wave consists of binary data or an M-ary encoded version of it and the carrier is sinusoidal wave.” so my question is what is M-ary encoding how can we do M-ary encoding in optisystem, I have found here a M-ary encoder but how does it works. please anyone explain this.

With regards,
      Prarthana Kashyap

Abdallah Ismail
      Participant

It is simply digital to analog converter.

Prarthana Kashyap
        Participant

Hi abdallah, if it is simply a digital to analog converter the an analog signal is going to modulate the light in case of optical communication, then it is not a digital modulation. Will you please explain in details. Thank you..

Regards,

alistu
      Participant

Hi Prarthana,

Digital signals in OptiSystem are either in binary form or in M-ary form. When the digital data only has two logical values of ‘0’ and ‘1’, it is called binary and otherwise, the data is M-ary. Many encoding components such as QAM receive binary input data and generate M-ary data in the output.

Regards

Prarthana Kashyap
        Participant

Thanks Alistu for the reply, How the M-ary data will look like, can you explain with some graphical representation how the bits will look like. or in case of M-ary encoding there will be more than one threshold. I have seen in many cases that the threshold detector is having some more values of threshold i.e. my question is will it require multiple no of threshold values in case of detection.

Regards

alistu
          Participant