Home Forums FIBER Gain Flattening Fiber Amplifier

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Safwan Jack
      Participant

Hi all. I am a beginner and I have only use Optisys 7 for 1 month.

1) Im trying to design a gain-flattening filter for EDFA. Firstly, i need to design an EDFA system. I have been trying to design the system using this setup (Link below) but i didnt really manage to get any result. My SV told me that I supposed to put a pump before EDF but i cant really put it there.

Lesson 7: Optical Amplifiers — Designing Optical Fiber Amplifiers and Fiber Lasers

2) Is there any way of using anything to get a gain flattened filter beside the gain flattening filter block? I have read some theory about doing ‘circulation’ but i dont really understand how to use the blocks inside optisys.

3) Here is the system i try to create. But I didnt really get the result. I’ve try putting optical delay but it didnt work either.

Attachments:
      Alessandro Festa
      Participant

Hi Safwan, have you tried to use components that are not bidirectional?

Regards,

Alessandro

Safwan Jack
        Participant

Hi Alessandro.

Thanks for your kind reply. Yes I have tried. In fact I have tried several method to design a gain flattening filter but I seems to have failed. Now, Iam trying to do a gain clamping EDFA by looping as suggested by my SV. Im doing the simulation base on the Journal “A Steady-Gain C-band EDFA for Multi-Wavelength Fiber Optical Transport Networks”. I dont really understand how to use the coupler 50/50. As the splitter, im being told that using 1×2 power splitter is okay.

Attachments:
      aasif bashir dar
      Participant

hi safwan jack,

the screen shot you have attached and your description reveal that your you are confusion about the gain flatting filter…