Home Forums FDTD Beam propagation in z direction

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      davcm
      Participant

Hello,
      As I am a newbie in this program, my question may be stupid or very easy to solve, so, firstly, I apologize myself if this is the case:
      I am trying to simulate a photonic crystal using Optiwave. When I perform the tutorials, the final result is the expected one. But, when I try to do mine, I observe that, when I only put an Input field (Gaussian modulated CW; propagation direction +z), a wafer (4×4; material: air) and two observation points (reflected and transmited), in the analyzer I can see that there is Electric field propagating along the Z axis. And I do not know why is this.

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.

David.

Damian Marek
      Participant

Hi davcm,

Can you please attach your project file? Also I am not exactly sure what the problem is. You placed a z direction plane wave and the electricl field is propagating along the z axis as I believe it should.

Regards,
      Damian

davcm
      Participant

Hello Damian,
      I guess my explanations were not good enough: the simulation occurs in the free space. I am working with an Input field (Gaussian modulated CW; propagation direction +z; polarization linear Ey), a wafer (4×4; material: air (so, free space)) and two observation points (reflected and transmited). So, as it is free space, no Ez component should appear (only Ey, and Hx). But, when I visulize both observation points I get an electric field with Ex, Ey and Ez components. What it should not be because the propagation direction is perpendicular to the polarization one.

Thanks a lot!

PD: simulation is in 3D. I attach both files, the design and the analysis ones.

Attachments:
        Damian Marek
        Participant