Home Forums SYSTEM A question about OFDM

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      Participant

Hi all!

Sorry for my stupid question. But i drew my project OFDM same as OFDM Demodulator.osd file in OptiSystem 13 Samples. I set value and everything same too. But the BER and Constellation results aren’t in the proper way.

Please tell me why, I’m a newbie. My file is in the attachments.

Thank you very much.

alistu
      Participant

Hi there, This type of question is usually asked when software users want to implement the same system to get the same results, so it is a valid question in my opinion. You need to make two changes: First, change the unit of low-pass filter cutoff and frequency of the quadrature demodulator from MHz to GHz. Second, change PIN photodiode center frequency to 193.1075 (in Downsampling tab).

Regards

Participant

Thank you, alistu!

It’s my mistakes. I did it yesterday, like you say. But I still don’t know why we must change the frequency to 193.1075 of the Optical Filter and the PIN photodiode too.

More question, when i change the QAM modulation from 4 to 16 or 64 then the BER Analyzer isn’t work. What happened, so what should i do to correct?

Sorry to bother you, i’m not good student! Answer me if you have free time.

Best regards.

alistu
        Participant

You’re welcome. 193.1 THz is the frequency of the laser, and 7.5GHz is the frequency of the quadrature modulator. So we add these to numbers to obtain the center frequency of the transmitted signal: 193.1THz+0.075THz=193.1075THz. After making the changes and getting results, change symbol rate in layout parameters according to the M-ary scheme and you’ll hopefully have no problem.

Participant

Thank you very much!

I tried your idea, but the BER Analyzer still doesn’t work. No results there.

My Bit rate was 10e+009, so I chose Symbol rate was 2.5e+009 ( in 16-QAM). What are my mistakes?