Home Forums SYSTEM 32 x 40 Gb/s DWDM

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      shaymaa Tahhan
      Participant

Dear all,

I am new to optisystem and till now I have worked on it for 504 hours, so please answer to my question because I am in a big puzzle and have a hard time.
      I am trying to perform exactly the same system in the attach file and I am not fully understand all the basics.
      1. what is the biasing voltage that I should apply to the modulators? does the first modulator have the same biasing voltage settings of the second modulator ??

2. what are the settings of the rise time and the fall time of the NRZ generator in my case?

3. What is the required bandwidth of the multiplexer and demultiplexer and should they be same or not for the same output number of the input channels?

4. what is the noise figure frequency of the EDFA and how much the bandwidth ??

5. Is the Q factor that i got from the BER analyzer in dB unit or unit less? if it is a unit less could I write a script somewhere to draw it in dB?

for now these are the most important question and if you require my to attach the optisystem file I will do.

kind regards,
      Shaymaa

these setting affect the Q factor

Ashu verma
      Participant

Hi shymaa
      There is some good questions you have asked. First of all one other forum member has query related to similar topic of DWDM at 25G Hz spacing and 40G data rate. Kindly also check her discussion time to time as you will most probably face similar issues while implementation.
      Kindly attach the simulation file if you made roughly and answer of these question as follows

Kindly check the optisystem samples
      Samples>transmitter> duobinary return to zero

This will show the single channel DRZ format and you can also check the modulator settings of DRZ. As ican see, two modulators are having different modulation voltages however bias voltages are fixed.