Home Forums FIBER OTDR- backscattered light not detected by apd

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Zofia Walczewska
      Participant

Hello everybody. I have problem with simulating OTDR in optisystem. I am very new at this and have been trying for a while to achieve any results, but it seems to still not be working correctly. The APD photodetector doesn’t detect the backscattered light from the fiber, as I am performing the simulations I can see that Optical Spectrum Analyzer does see some backscattered light, but the optical time domain visualizer doesn’t give any results. I am really confused and don’t know what is wrong with my project, please help me. Thank you in advance.

Ahmad Atieh

Hello Zofia,
      You may try the new release OptiSystem 16.0, you can measure Rayleigh backscattered signal in the time domain. You could try it to build your OTDR.
      Regards,
      Ahmad

Zofia Walczewska
      Participant

Hello Ahmad,

Thank you very much for your response. I will try that.

Best regards,
      Zofia.

Zofia Walczewska
      Participant

Dear Ahmad,

I simulated my otdr project in new optisystem, but unfortunately it is still not working as I cannot see the backscatered signal in the output of the circulator where the apd detector is. On the other hand I can see the backscattered signal on the optical time domain visualizer. Do you have any ideas what might cause that?

Best regards,
      Zofia Walczewska

Attachments:
      Steve Dods
      Participant

Zofia, This part of the Optiwave website is Forums > FIBER. That means it is about OptiFiber. On the other hand, it appears your question is about OptiSystem. I recommend you post your question under Forums > SYSTEM. There it is more likely to be seen by someone who knows the answer to your question.

Regards, Steve

Ahmad Atieh

Dear Zofia,