Home Forums SYSTEM MSK output to OFDM modulator input

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Dr. Dhiman Kakati
      Participant

Hi all, I am new to OFDM design, attaching a part of the system where I want to connect the output of MSK sequence generator to the input of OFDM modulation block, but unable to connect the two as the MSK sequence generator output is not in M-ary form and the input of OFDM is in M-ary form so need to convert the output of MSK sequence generator to M-ary form. When I try to connect the M-ary pulse generator because its input and output type are opposite as per my requirement. so how can I convert the electrical signal to M-ary form. Thanks in advance.

Regards,
      Dhiman

Attachments:
      Dr. Dhiman Kakati
      Participant

I am also not finding the decoder for MSK, i.e. MSK decoder in the components library. Do I need to design it manually, I need your suggestion.T Thanks.

Regards

alistu
      Participant

Hi Dhiman,

The OFDM inputs signal format should be M-ary. MSK changes the M-ary output signal of the PSK coder into an electrical signal. So why not using the PSK before the OFDM instead of MSK? Any particular characteristic of MSK that you are suggesting might be useful when being used in OFDM scheme?

Regards

Dr. Dhiman Kakati
      Participant

Alistu, I am actually asking for if there is some provision or way to connect the output of MSK sequence generator to the input of OFDM modulator. Thanks for the reply.

Regards,
      Dhiman

alistu
        Participant

I am aware of this, and I gave the above suggestion for the same purpose. Instead of converting electrical signal to M-ary signal, or in other words negating what pulse generators do in MSK layout (which you can see in MSK help section), not using pulse generators in the first place. Plus it is interesting for me to know based on what reasoning MSK has been used instead of PSK if you don’t mind.

Regards

Dr. Dhiman Kakati
          Participant