Home Forums FDTD Simulation of transmittance through a colloidal photonic crystal slab

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author
      Serena Zhang
      Participant

I need to simulate optical response (mainly transmittance and reflection) through colloidal photonic crystal slabs. The slab is uniform with spheres filled inside the medium. The slab is about 10-50um thick. I am very new to FDTD. Any suggestions here?

Aurelien Duval
      Participant

Hi,

It seems doable using our software. The approach will really depend on how these spheres are organized.

If you have a regular pattern, then drawing the photonic crystal will be pretty simple. You just need to use the photonic bandgap crystal tool (PBG tool) to define your lattice and atoms.

If it’s a random suspension of colloids, then we’ll need to use scripting to drive the position of each sphere according to an equation.

I can find you some examples of both types if needed.

Serena Zhang
      Participant

Thank you for your response. That would be great if you can find me some examples. I need to decide if we should purchase the software or not. I am not sure if FDTD is a good method for simulating optical response of a limited thickness PhC slab.

Aurelien Duval
      Participant

Hi,

Here are a couple of examples.
      You will have to adapt them to your specific application, but that’s the general idea.

* colloidal_phC_hexa_pavement.fdt : a regular 3D hexagonal lattice or air holes in a dielectric material
      * vbColloidal_phC.fdt : a randomly-distributed (in position and sizes) colloidal suspension of air bubbles in a dielectric material (like a sol-gel for example). This example uses visual basic scripting to position the bubbles.

I hope you will find them useful

Aurelien

Serena Zhang
        Participant

Hello, Aurelien